Friday, September 12

1:00-4:00 p.m.    Faculty Showcase (Given Auditorium, Bixler Art and Music Center)

1:00 -1:20 p.m.
Catherine Besteman, Francis F. Bartlett and Ruth K. Bartlett Professor of Anthropology
Reflections on an Anthropology of Adventure and Love

1:30-1:50 p.m.
D. Whitney King, Dr. Frank and Theodora Miselis Professor of Chemistry
Collaborative Research: Building Research Programs to Reduce the Impacts of Human Development on Oceans and Lakes

2:00-2:20 p.m.
Lydia Moland, Associate Professor of Philosophy
Global Justice, Local Focus: Applying Philosophy in Maine

2:30-2:50 p.m.
Philip Nyhus, Associate Professor of Environmental Studies
The Trouble with Tigers: Collaborating with Students to Protect and Restore Endangered Species

3:00-3:20 p.m.
Andrea Tilden, J. Warren Merrill Associate Professor of Biology
Why Do We Sleep? Clues from Brain Cells

3:30-3:50 p.m.
John Turner, Associate Professor of History
ISIS Is Bonkers, It Is Not Re-establishing a Caliphate, and Other Lessons Learned Studying the History of the Middle East.

4:30 p.m.   Reflections on the Faculty Showcase, moderated by President David A. Greene (Given Auditorium, Bixler Art and Music Center)

6:00 p.m.   Dinner for students, faculty, staff, and guests (Foss and Dana dining halls)

8:00 p.m.   Dessert Reception (Colby Green)

9:00 p.m.   Fireworks (viewing from Colby Green)

Saturday, September 13

10:00 a.m.-noon    Student Showcase (Diamond Building Atrium)

  • Students will present posters about their research.

10:30 a.m.   The Role of Liberal Arts in Developing Future Leaders: Toward a More Engaged—and Civil—Citizenry
 (Ostrove Auditorium, Diamond Building)

  • David Axelrod, Director, 
Institute of Politics at the University of Chicago
  • Susan Collins, United States Senator from Maine
  • Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot, Emily Hargroves Fisher Professor of Education at the Harvard Graduate School of Education
  • Robert J. Zimmer, President, University of Chicago
  • Moderated by L. Sandy Maisel, William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of Government

Noon          Lunch for students, faculty, staff, and guests (Foss and Dana dining halls)

2:00 p.m.   Installation Ceremony (Miller Lawn) followed by reception (Colby Green)