Since 1952, Honoring Courage in Journalism

Colby’s Lovejoy Award, established in 1952, honors a member of the newspaper profession who continues Elijah Parish Lovejoy’s heritage of fearlessness and freedom. The recipient may be an editor, reporter, or publisher who has contributed to the nation’s journalistic achievement. Criteria include integrity, craftsmanship, character, intelligence, and courage.

The Lovejoy Selection Committee is accepting nominations for the 2017 Lovejoy Award. Please send nomination information by Friday, April 14 to committee secretary Amanda Cooley at

Criteria | Selection Committee

Alissa J. Rubin Receives 2016 Lovejoy Award

Alissa J. Rubin speaks after receiving the 2016 Lovejoy Award.

Alissa J. Rubin gives the 2016 Lovejoy Convocation address.

Coverage of the human toll of war—on noncombatants, on women and children, and on the cities where they live—is as crucial to understanding conflict as the traditional reporting of battles, insurgencies, and invasions around the world, according to 2016 Lovejoy Award winner Alissa J. Rubin.

Rubin, a Pulitzer-decorated foreign correspondent for the New York Times, was celebrated this week at the 64th Elijah Parish Lovejoy Convocation at Colby. She addressed a packed Lorimer Chapel after receiving an honorary degree from President David A. Greene. Learn more >>>

Listen to a podcast of Rubin’s Lovejoy address here >>>



The Story of Lovejoy


Elijah Parish Lovejoy was born in Albion, Maine, and graduated from Waterville College (now Colby) in 1826. On Nov. 7, 1837, in Alton, Ill., the newspaper editor became America’s first martyr to the freedom of the press when a pro-slavery mob set fire to the building that housed his press. Killed as he attempted to extinguish the blaze, he was buried on his 35th birthday.
More >