Since 1952, Honoring Courage in Journalism

Colby’s Lovejoy Award, established in 1952, honors a member of the newspaper profession who continues Elijah Parish Lovejoy’s heritage of fearlessness and freedom. The recipient may be an editor, reporter, or publisher who has contributed to the nation’s journalistic achievement. Criteria include integrity, craftsmanship, character, intelligence, and courage.

Criteria | Selection Committee

Alissa Rubin will receive the Lovejoy Award Oct. 24, 2016.

New York Times Correspondent Alissa Rubin Named 2016 Lovejoy Winner

Alissa Rubin, a Pulitzer Prize-winning foreign correspondent for the New York Times, will receive Colby College’s Elijah Parish Lovejoy Award for courageous journalism at 7:30 p.m. Monday, Oct. 24, in Colby’s Lorimer Chapel. Rubin will deliver the 2016 Lovejoy Convocation address at the ceremony, which is open to the public, and receive an honorary doctoral degree. Learn more >>>

Capturing War: Images of Conflict, Upheaval, and Revolution

In conjunction with the Lovejoy Award, three award-winning war photographers will display and discuss some of their most compelling work. Learn more >>>


The Story of Lovejoy


Elijah Parish Lovejoy was born in Albion, Maine, and graduated from Waterville College (now Colby) in 1826. On Nov. 7, 1837, in Alton, Ill., the newspaper editor became America’s first martyr to the freedom of the press when a pro-slavery mob set fire to the building that housed his press. Killed as he attempted to extinguish the blaze, he was buried on his 35th birthday.
More >