The award, presented annually at the Lovejoy Convocation to a member of the news profession, was established in 1952.

  1. To honor and preserve the memory of Elijah Parish Lovejoy, America’s first martyr to freedom of the press and a Colby College graduate (valedictorian, Class of 1826) who died bravely rather than forsake his editorial principles.
  2. To stimulate and honor the kind of achievement in the field of reporting, editing, and interpretive writing that continues the Lovejoy heritage of fearlessness and freedom.
  3. To promote a sense of mutual responsibility and cooperative effort between a news industry devoted to journalistic freedom and a liberal arts college dedicated to academic freedom.

The selection committee makes its choice of a recipient on the basis of:

  1. Integrity, without which no news organization can function in its traditional role as a public servant.
  2. Craftsmanship, without which no one can succeed as a journalist.
  3. Character, intelligence, and courage.

The recipient may be a journalist or publisher. It is important only that he or she be a newsman or newswoman, regardless of title, who, in the opinion of selection committee members, has contributed to the country’s journalistic achievement.

Nominations for the 2018 award should be submitted to
Ruth Jackson, secretary, Lovejoy Selection Committee
or mail to
Colby College
5319 Mayflower Hill
Waterville, Maine 04901

Please submit your nomination, along with a short statement explaining the reason for your nomination, by Monday, April 30, 2018.