Office of Communications (

LEWISTON, Maine — Maine Campus Compact (MCC) awarded the Donald Harward Award for Service-Learning Excellence to three faculty members at three Maine colleges. Susan Fickett, Director of Service Learning and Nursing Faculty at Saint Joseph’s College, Mark Tappan, Associate Professor of Education and Human Development at Colby College, and Professor W. Bumper White, Coordinator of Collaborative Learning And School Success Professional Development School Program and Associate Professor at the University of Southern Maine: Lewiston-Auburn College were recognized for their accomplishments in service-learning, an instructional method in which students learn through involvement in service that meets a community need.

Honorees received their awards as part of a daylong showcase of service-learning at the Maine State House Hall of Flags at 11 a.m. on February 26.

Colby Professor Mark Tappan has developed and implemented service-learning components in all of his courses in the Education Program for the last eight years. Students involved in Professor Tappan’s classes serve as mentors, tutors, and activity coordinators for after school programs in the Waterville area. Tappan’s students are also involved in action research programs connected with the Colby Cares about Kids program, and other initiatives sponsored by Communities for Children to promote positive youth development in the greater Waterville area.

Maine Campus Compact is a statewide coalition of college and university presidents established to encourage and enhance campus engagement in the community. The Donald Harward Faculty Award is presented annually, and honors former Bates College President and Maine Campus Compact Board Member Donald Harward.