SGA Executive Board 2018-2019

Treasurer: Tyra Daruwalla ’19

Chatham, NJ

Hello everyone! My name is Tyra Daruwalla and I am the SGA Treasurer this year. I was born in India and moved to Chatham, New Jersey when I was 8 with my mom, dad, older brother and two dogs. My favorite city is New York, where I lived this past summer with Molly Manuel (Community Engagement Chair), but I have a sweet spot for Mumbai where most of my family still resides.  I am senior majoring in Government and Economics with a concentration in Financial Markets. Outside of SGA, I am a COOT Leader, Sexual Violence Prevention Peer Educator and this past year, I was captain of the Swimming and Diving team. I also dabble in dance with the Colby Dancers. I couldn’t be more excited to work alongside the amazing members of SGA and with the student body to create a lasting impact this year and foster an environment of inclusion, support, and engagement on Colby’s campus. Since I live off-campus, the SGA office will be my home away from home so feel free to pop in any time to discuss any new ideas or just to talk about life. I am really looking forward to getting to know all of you this year!

Parliamentarian: Zack Mishoulam ’19

Chicago, IL

What’s going on everyone?!?! My name is Zack Mishoulam, hailing from the great city of Chicago, and I am your Parliamentarian for the 2018-2019 year! As Parliamentarian I’m in charge of running SGA meetings, conducting student elections, and overseeing clubs at Colby. Academic wise, I’m a Government and History double major with a minor in Jewish Studies. Outside of the classroom, I love to get outdoors and go skiing, canoeing and fishing with friends! It’s gonna be a great year and I can’t wait to spend it with all of you.

Community Engagement Chair: Molly Manuel ’19

Andover, MA

Hello! I am Molly Manuel from Andover, Massachusetts. On campus you can find me completing math problem sets in Davis or playing volleyball in the Wadsworth Gymnasium. On Sunday’s I take part in Catholic Fellowship at the Chapel at 4pm.I spent last semester abroad studying at Trinity College Dublin so if you see me around and you would like to talk about studying abroad I am all ears! Although I am #blessed that I was able to study abroad I am even more excited to be a part of SGA for my senior year to help fellow mules have an impactful college experience inside and outside of the classroom. Lots of love, xoxo Molly

Administrative Assistant: Maddie Taylor ’19

Wells, Maine

Hi everyone! My name is Maddie Taylor, and I’m a senior from Wells, Maine. I’ll be this year’s SGA Executive Board Administrative Assistant. I joined SGA last year as a Senator for the Class of 2019 and absolutely loved it, which pushed me to apply for this year’s Exec Board. I’m excited to make a lasting positive impact on the Colby community by hopefully enacting change in some different administrative policy areas along with the rest of SGA! Aside from SGA I’m a government and psychology double major, I’m President of Colby’s chapter of Active Minds, I’m in the African Drumming ensemble, and I’m an avid distance runner and Patriots fanatic!!!

Multicultural Affairs Chair: Diego Hernandez ’19

Brownsville, Texas

Hello everyone! My name is Diego Hernandez and I will be your Multicultural Affairs Chair this year! I’m a senior Government and Latin American Studies double major from Brownsville, Texas. I am a future member of the 2019 Houston Teach for America Corps and would love to talk to anybody interested in learning more about the program. I am also the president of the Men of Color Alliance (MOCA) and can be frequently found in my natural habitat: the Pugh Center. You’ll probably never see me around campus without my headphones on but don’t let that stop you from starting up a conversation! I’m a huge fan of the San Francisco 49ers and would like to use this opportunity to publicly predict that they will win Super Bowl LIII. I’m hoping to use my position to help strengthen the sense of community at Colby and help create a warm and welcoming environment for everybody!

Communications Chair: Laura Polley ’21

Manchester, CT

Hi, I’m Laura and I can’t wait to serve on the Executive Board as Communications Chair this year! I was a class senator as a freshman last year and loved being a part of Student Government. I am a member of the Track & Field Team at Colby and have made some of my closest friends through the team. I will be double-majoring in Economics and Global Studies which I am very much looking forward to. I am a sophomore from Manchester, Connecticut and live with my family from Colombia, my two parents, and my little brother. (and my two cats) I go on hikes with my family often and enjoy adventuring outdoors. Some fun things about me include that I LOVE coconut ice cream and pigs. I am also an avid fan of the Hume, especially after a hot afternoon workout. And if you ever find yourself with a free Tuesday afternoon come to the chapel to meditate, it is hands down the best way to relax! Please feel free to send me ideas and suggestions, I will always be happy to chat.