Schedule for Fall 2019

Thursday, September 17, 2019
“The Patch-Work City”
Marco Garrido
University of Chicago

Tuesday, October 8, 2019
“All in the Family: How the Cold War Shaped American Demography”
Savina Balasubramanian ’10
Loyola University Chicago

Tuesday, November 5, 2019
“American Bonds: How Credit Markets Shaped a Nation”
Sarah Quinn
University of Washington

Tuesday, November 12, 2019
“Allyship in the Time of Death: Black Feminism, Black Male Aggrievement, and the Politics of Division and Liberation”
Freeden Blume Oeur
Tufts University

Schedule for Spring 2019

Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Kingsley Birge Lecture in Sociology
“Race, Class and Urban Poverty in the Age of Trump”
Dr. William Julius Wilson
Harvard University

Thursday, April 11, 2019
“The Role of Higher Education in Social Mobility May Be More Complicated Than You Think”
Michael Hout
NYU

Schedule for Fall 2018

Thursday, September 20, 2018
“What is a Liberal Arts College”
Mitchell Stevens
Stanford Graduate School of Education

Thursday, October 11, 2018
“Global Systemic Risk”
Miguel Centeno
Princeton University

Schedule for Spring 2018

Monday, March 5, 2018
“Outsourced Children: Orphanage Care and Adoption in Globalizing China”
Leslie Wang
University of Massachusetts, Boston

Thursday, March 22, 2018
“Broke and Patriotic: Why Poor Americans Love Their Country”
Francesco Duina
Bates College

Thursday, April 5, 2018
“Educational Inequalities, Educational Expansion, and Intergenerational Income Mobility in the US”
Deirdre Bloome
University of Michigan

Schedule for Fall 2017

Monday, September 25, 2017
“Mothers’ Employment Patterns and Consequences for Adolescent Outcomes”
Alexandra Killewald
Harvard University

Monday, October 9, 2017
“Politicizing Islam: The Islamic Revival in France and India”
Fareen Parvez
University of Massachusetts

Monday, October 23, 2017
“Privilege and Punishment: Unequal Experiences of Criminal Justice”
Matthew Clair
Harvard University

Monday, October 30, 2017
“Social Practices as Biological Niche Construction”
Joseph Rouse
Wesleyan University

Monday, November 13, 2017
“Trumpism before Trump: Party Polarization and Rust Belt Populism Reexamined”
Josh Pacewicz
Brown University