The Art Department faculty established this prize in 2015. It is presented annually to a graduating Art History major who produces an outstanding capstone essay. The winning essay is commended for the strength of its research questions and argumentation, its critical and creative thinking, and the implications of its findings in and beyond the discipline of art history.


2018-2019 Ellis M. Grubman: The Wiener Werkstätte: A Study of Interdisciplinarity

Professor of Art Veronique Plesch announced the award at the annual awards ceremony on May 7, 2019.


2016-17 Wilder Davies: Catharsis and Destruction: Apocalyptic Anxiety in Contemporary Japanese Art

2015-16 Shauna L. Yuan: Money Matters: Tracing the Role of the International Art Market in the Development of Contemporary Chinese Art