Academic departments and programs are classified in the following divisions:

Division of Humanities, Professor Ankeney Weitz, chair, includes the departments of Art, Classics, East Asian Studies, English including Creative Writing, French and Italian, German and Russian, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Spanish, and Theater and Dance.

Division of Social Sciences, Associate Professor Timothy Hubbard, chair, includes the departments of Anthropology, Economics, Government, History, Psychology, and Sociology.

Division of Natural Sciences, Professor Charles Conover, chair, includes the departments of Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Geology, Mathematics and Statistics, and Physics and Astronomy.

Division of Interdisciplinary Studies, Professor Cheryl Townsend Gilkes, chair, includes the programs in African-American Studies; American Studies; Cinema Studies; Education; Environmental Studies; Global Studies; Jewish Studies; Latin American Studies; Science, Technology, and Society; Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies; and the Writing Program.

Integrated Studies: Integrated Studies, first offered in the spring of 1997, is a pioneering program in liberal arts education designed to explore an era or topic from the converging perspectives of several disciplines. The Integrated Studies semester brings together students with similar interests and provides them an opportunity to learn about a subject in depth and to make broad connections between disciplines that will help reveal the essential unity of human knowledge and experience. Structured around clusters of courses, the program is primarily for first-year students. The program and the individual courses are described under Integrated Studies in the Courses of Study section of this catalogue.