Faculty Briefs



Pioneering Studies
Jim Fleming (STS) has been elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science "for pioneering studies on the history of meteorology and climate change and for the advancement of historical work within meteorological societies." The sitting president of the International Commission on History of Meteorology, Fleming also is the Ritter Fellow at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography this year. He's been busy doing talks here and there, and in October he published an op-ed in the Los Angeles Times on the role of climate in the California wildfires.

Distinguished Fellow
Goldfarb Family Distinguished Professor of American Government G. Calvin Mackenzie has been elected a fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration. Evidently he is the first person from Maine so honored. Mackenzie was inducted in Washington, D.C., on November 21. An independent, nonpartisan organization chartered by Congress, the academy is the nation's preeminent organization dedicated to improving the performance of governance systems. Fellows include leading members of Congress, governors, mayors, cabinet secretaries and agency heads, journalists and scholars. Their election recognizes careers of significant contribution to the practice and study of government.

Honoring Collaborative Practices
On October 24 the National Conference on Peer Tutoring in Writing (NCPTW) presented Jean Donovan Sanborn (English) the 2003 Ron Maxwell Award for Distinguished Leadership in Promoting the Collaborative Learning Practices of Peer Tutors in Writing. The award recognizes Sanborn's dedication to promoting the work of peer tutors and her years of service as director of Colby's Farnham Writers' Center, a position she retired from in 2003. The presentation, in Hershey, Pa., came at the 20th annual meeting of the NCPTW, an organization Sanborn helped to found.