Mary L. Carver Poetry Prize
Original poetry by a male or female student.

Established in 1967 by a bequest from Ruby Carver Emerson, Class of 1904, in memory of her mother, Mary Low Carver, Class of 1875, who was Colby’s first woman graduate. Mary Low Hall is named for her.

Katherine Rogers Murphy Prize for Original Poetry
Original poetry by a freshman or sophomore woman.

Established in 1987 by Katherine’s parents, Marjorie Murphy Shuman ’37 (nee Gould) and the late Howard R. Murphy.  This prize was created in memory of Katherine Rogers Murphy ’71, who died tragically while still a first year student at Colby. Katherine was an English major from New York, and is remembered for her outgoing personality, her love of the outdoors, and her love of reading. Her parents and friends sponsored the creation of the award in memory of the potential she had possessed. The recipient of the award is someone who will be able to go on to do the things Katherine Rogers Murphy was terribly sadly denied.

Elmira Nelson Jones Prize for Creative Writing
Short story writing.

Established in 1959 by Elmira’s daughter, Margaret H. Jones, M.D.  Elmira Nelson Jones, Class of 1897, was one of the women who attended Colby before the idea of a college-educated woman was readily accepted. She was a public school teacher and spent five years on the Portland School Board. The winner of this prize will be someone who is as much a lover of the written word as Elmira Nelson Jones was.

Kristina Stahl Prize for Creative Nonfiction

For excellence in the writing of creative nonfiction

Established in 2015 by Kristina’s parents, this prize is created in memory of Kristina Stahl ’99, who died tragically in 2002. She was a talented English teacher at Kingswood Oxford School in West Hartford, CT, and was pursuing her Masters in English at Middlebury during summers at the Bread Loaf campus. Kristina loved writing fiction, poetry, and nonfiction.