This year’s Lovejoy Award in journalism was awarded to A.C. Thompson, an investigative reporter for ProPublica, a non-profit online newsroom based in New York City. Thompson’s courageous work in New Orleans has led to federal charges against several police officers for the shooting of civilians. Since 1952, Colby has given the Lovejoy Award annually in honor of Elijah Parish Lovejoy, who died defending his press against a pro-slavery mob.