| by Stephen B. Collins '74

Sara E. George ’15

Sara Elizabeth George ’15, a geology major and a chemistry minor, was named a 2014 Goldwater Scholar. Already a Senator George J. Mitchell Scholar since 2011, a Mitchell Fellow in 2013, and a NOAA Hollings Scholar in 2013, George is one of 283 undergraduates to win a 2014-15 Goldwater Scholarship from a field of 1,166 mathematics, science, and engineering students nominated by faculties nationwide. The scholarship awards up to $7,500 per year.

George grew up in Limington, Maine, and graduated from Bonny Eagle High School. In the fall of 2013 she studied at the Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences in East Boothbay, Maine, in Colby’s semester in residence there. She worked with Bigelow senior research scientists David Emerson and Ben Twining on a project titled “Bioavailability of Biogenic Iron Oxyhydroxides from Iron-Oxidizing Bacteria to Marine Phytoplankton.”

This summer, as part of her NOAA Hollings Scholarship, she will investigate the mechanisms of calcium carbonate bioerosion by sea sponges at the Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute in Fort Pierce, Fla. After Colby she plans to complete a Ph.D. program in geology with a focus in biogeochemistry.

The Goldwater Foundation is a federally endowed agency established in 1986. The Goldwater Scholarship honors the late Senator Barry Goldwater and was designed to encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering. The Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award of its type in these fields, according to the foundation. Since its first award, in 1989, the foundation has awarded 7,163 scholarships worth approximately $46 million.