Professor of Art Véronique Plesch has been invited to join the board of directors of the South Solon Historical Society, which main goal is “to care for and preserve the life and traditions of the Meeting House.” Built in 1842, the South Solon Meeting House is on the National Historic Register. Between 1952 and 1956, the interior of the building received floor-to-ceiling contemporary frescoes.

The Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture organized three national juried competitions to select the artists (the faculty and jurors involved were René d’Harnoncourt, Director, Museum of Modern Art; John I.H. Bauer Director, Whitney Museum of American Art; Ely Jacques Kahn and Nathaniel Saltonstall, architects; and artists Ben Shahn, Jack Levine, Franklin Watkins, and Isabel Bishop). The artists include Sigmund Abeles, Alfred Blaustein, Edwin Brooks, Ashley Bryan, Willard Cummings, Sidney Hurwitz, William King, Tom Mikkelson, Anne Poor, Henry Varnum Poor, Judith Shuman, Sidney Simon, and John Wallace.